A time to celebrate, a time to mourn.

I often wonder why so many people die during the holiday times. Today was the funeral for my son’s paternal grandmother. She was a very dear and special woman who spent her life serving others, the Lord, her family and her church. In the 23 years I knew her, I never saw or heard her do a cruel or unkind thing. That in itself should tell you alot about who she was. She spent her “working years” as a nurse” and continued to serve through the church until shortly before her death.

But I often wonder why the holidays seems to take so many loved ones from us, my maternal grandmother passed on December 17, 1996 and my step-grandmother passed on Christmas Eve 1994. I loved the both dearly, and wonder if Christmas will ever have the same magic for me?

I still love Christmas time and value it as a time to share with family and friends in remembrance of the birth of my Savior, but there is a hint of sadness to each celebration now.

This will also be my first Christmas without my youngest child. He will be spending Christmas in Wisconsin with his wife and her family. And while this is something to celebrate, the joy of young love, of children growing up, of life moving forward, it will be strange without him. And probably very quiet I might add!

But I will do my best to celebrate each of the things that come to me, be they happy or sad. Because even sad things have a purpose and that is my cause for celebration. The loved ones lost, I celebrate that they are no longer suffering or in pain. The baby boy grown to manhood I celebrate his time to spread his wings and share the love of a very special young lady and another family who loves him. The Savior who died so that our lives may not be pointless things lost to a sinful life, but that in redemption through Him the way to a new and better life at the time of our death hear on Earth.

So yes, it is Christmas, and I will have my sad moments, but I plan to revel in the joy that comes with faith and knowing that the lost love ones will be seen again and that we will then have forever to celebrate each others company!

Thank you for taking the time to read this, may God bless you and keep you and I wish each of you a very Merry CHRISTmas!

2 responses to “A time to celebrate, a time to mourn.

  1. Oh Cindy, I feel for you and this must be a really hard time. If you need anything let me know. I enjoyed reading your thoughts, even if they were hard to write.

    Best,
    Cyndi

    Like

  2. Merry Christmas to you too!

    And I have to agree, with each passing day, I’m just happy that my mother is no longer suffering (she died December 1st, after almost a year of battling lung cancer). This will be the first Christmas without her (heck, it’s the first month I’ve spent alone at home), but I am happy that she’s no longer in pain and suffering.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you, please leave a reply.

